Skip navigation

The NaNo Winner is ME!

The NaNo Winner is ME!

That’s right! I just crossed the finished line with 50,019 words. I have to confess that I did cheat a bit (just a bit!). I did the old “pad the manuscript with song lyrics” trick. Underhanded I know. But these where not random lyrics. Mine fit the story. Of course this is my first time and the story is heavy on action, shallow on character development. Its also supposed to be the first of a trilogy (of novellas, why not). Maybe I’ll go back and hack the hell out of it and hope it reaches a decent agent/publisher. Will see. But for now, allow me to savor the moment!

Oh and see you all next year!

2 Comments

  1. Hey,

    Mucho congrats to you! And don’t worry about it. I’m pretty sure almost every NaNo-er cheats a little bit- whether or not they want to admit it. I, for one, have way more adjectives and adverbs than I’d normally ever use. Of course that could just be a coincidence….

  2. Thank you!

    🙂

    Oh that goes without saying. But then I don’t really care about that on my first draft. I am ruthless when it comes taking those out on my second one.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Playing with Archetypes « Sturm und Drang on 13 Dec 2008 at 12:27 am

    […] vampires from monstrous blood suckers to tortured goth heroes. I responded that the vampires in my NaNo project were anything but “cuddly”.  If anything they were conniving, manipulative, psychopaths […]

Leave a Reply

