Skip navigation

Yeah, I caught the research bug. It’s a mutation of world building disease where you are trapped in an endless cycle of research material. In my case, wikis, lots and lots of wikis. I go off in an endless wiki walk.

What is a wiki walk?

I’ll show you.

For example:

Xenia: The Greek concept of hospitality. Simple enough, but then there is a link to Zeus, which leads to Mount Olympus which in turn leads to the Twelve Olympians.

Looking at ways mortals become gods leads me to Apotheosis, divine (divinity), theology,Imperial Cults, Ancient Egypt and on and on.

The end result looks something like this.

Not pretty, not at all.

And what am I doing spending the balance of my weekend trolling wikis until the explode all over my browsers tab section like shrooms on cow shit?

Data mining. Looking for concepts, names, that sort of thing. This is not in-depth research (I mean wikis, really). I just want enough to give my current project some depth beyond the standard Medieval fantasy fare.

The risk of all of this is that I start “showing my research” or worse show that I did not do enough of it.

Oh well.  At least I am writing while I research otherwise I get trapped in world building and get nothing done and that would be a real shame.

7 Comments

  1. Wikipedia is dangerous. You end up surfing and can get distracted, but on the other hand must be learning things. Problem I find is I ramble and don’t get the things I need. Heck it’s lots of fun though and sometimes I even get ideas for writing.

  2. Wow! I have the same bug. I’m gonna call it the Wiki Walk Bug after you. 🙂

    I tend to jot down stuff to look up for various reasons. And then the same immortal bug hits me. That said, it has helped me too, as I’m sure it does you 🙂

  3. Yeah. You can waste a lot of time but then again it’s mighty useful mental stimulation. As for the name, I can’t take all the credit, that goes to TV Tropes, which is an even more addictive site than plain old Wikipedia!

    😀

  4. I refuse to even remember this information. Very dangerous in the wrong hands. And mine are wrong. All wrong. 🙂

    God it’s hard not to look up. But I will prevail. 🙂

  5. Ah, linked to you. After falling into a Wiki Hole. 🙂

  6. Caught the Wiki Walk Bug bad, eh? 😀

  7. Wiki holes…gotta love ’em. And, of course, XKCD illustrations.

    Now I’m tempted to wander through Wikipedia. 🙂


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] I was on Wikipedia.  I blame Ralfast.  And the fact that I had a quick jot of research to do for a plot point.  And I swear, somehow, […]

  2. By I got my NaNo 09! « Sturm und Drang on 06 Aug 2009 at 1:26 pm

    […] guessed from my last few posts, I’ve been knee deep in world building, title writing and research. All of that leading to the NaNo kickoff on November 1st. I enjoyed last year NaNo (my first) […]

  3. […] up with names on the spot. So when I’m reading a magazine or doing research for a project (wiki-walk anyone?) I write down names that I can use […]

Leave a Reply

