Skip navigation

nano_09_blk_participant_100x100_1.png

I was going to write about something else, and the draft is on this blog post folder, but  I decided to “borrow” a meme from Bejamin Solah about NaNo:

When and how did you find about NaNoWriMo? How did it go?

I heard of it a couple of years ago from a gaming/RPG forum I’m a member of. I tried to participate a few times but I would always quit before it even started.

How many times have you done NaNoWriMo?’

Once, last year (2008).

How many times have you won? If you haven’t won, what was your best result?

I won last year, by something like 39 words. So I’m 1:1 when it comes to NaNo.

How did it go last year?

Stressful. I tried to write at least 2,000 words a day, but kept falling behind.  The stress can be terrific, but it is also a great motivator. Once I was done I realized that I had only about a third to half of the story done so after a short break I continued to write and finished the first draft in February of this year (2009).

Where do you write and with what do you write?

I write whenever and wherever I can. Pen and legal pad (white). Although for NaNo I usually do it as a series of blog posts which remain in draft form (wordpress rules) which then I cut and paste to Word.

How do you find time to write?

You got to make the time. I usually work an hour or so before my bedtime. Knock out a few hundred to thousand words and then hit the hay.

Are your partners, friends and allies or enemies?

I keep most of my writing to myself. Most of my online friends are allies, but the people around me hardly know what I’m working on.

What are your strengths and what do you use to help you get to the end?

Excitement, Stress, Dedication and Caffeine, although do to resent events I’ve abandoned the last one.  Of all of those factors, excitement is what keeps me going. Once I’m into a story I like to see it through to the end.  That and the more I write the (hopefully) better I get.

What are your weaknesses, obstacles, and challenges that hinder you from finishing?

Laziness and an obsession with perfection. Self-motivation is hard to come by sometimes and also I’m a stickler for internal consistency. I hate getting “lost” not knowing where to go next in the story. Mind you I do not outline as that simply kills the whole writing experience for me, but I do write notes while I write, which helps me keep track of things (characters, locations, plot points).

Do you plot/outline/plan or do you write by the seat of your pants? How much do you plot or how unprepared are you?

I don’t do outlines. Writing an outline feels like I already wrote the story, but without any of the important parts. I do brainstorm about genre, title and the like. I write down a few basic notes and go from there. Everything else happens at the point of the pen or the tip of the fingers as I write.

Do you participate in the real life community, go to write ins and meets ups in your area?

No, I don’t know any NaNo groups so I don’t participate. Besides I think that would make it even more stressful that it already is.  I like to focus my energies on my story.

What are your writing aids? Special snacks, music, totems, reward or punishments?

I set up a themed songlist to play on my iPod or computer while I write, that’s about it. Failure is punishment enough.

Well those are my answers to the meme. I hope you enjoyed them.

2 Comments

  1. Great answers. Thanks for playing along.

  2. No problem.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Yet another NaNo Meme « She Thinks Too Much on 07 Oct 2009 at 5:23 pm

    […] 2009 by Beth So, I was reading Ralfast’s Sturm und Drang blog the other day and saw this meme about NaNoWriMo. While I’m still kind of on the fence about participating this year (and if I […]

  2. […] Sturm und Drang – 26 Days to NaNo: A NaNo Based Meme […]

Leave a Reply

