Skip navigation

Oh boy!

Yep, I think I’m about to change directions. I am not giving up on NaNo, at least not yet, but I am throwing the idea of a fantasy WIP away and reviving an old idea of mine. How old? How about decades in the making? At least 10 maybe 15 years old.

It’s not first time it happens. Last summer (08) I thought I had the perfect idea for NaNo (mecha-based sci-fi) only to abandon it for Sturm und Drang (urban fantasy) . What sounded like a great idea months ago now has come undone.

It never gelled properly in my, which is where I do most of my organizing and planning. The more I thought about it, the less sense it made.

Then a single image struck me.

A young man walking down rain slick stone stairs.

That was image I could use. But that meant abandoning a recent story for a older one, one waiting to be rescued from the muck of half-forgotten memories.

It seems after a long time, its time has come.

And this is what inspired it:

2 Comments

  1. Wow, huge change. It’s definitely better to go along with it, I think, then push along with an idea that seems second-rate.

  2. It seemed that the more I thought about it, the murkier and weaker it became. Not surprising since it was based on a D&D campaign and those rarely transfer well to novel form.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] I like fantasy and I know a bit about Medieval European history, so it seemed like a good idea. […]

Leave a Reply

