Skip navigation

 

All-Hallows Eve.

I’m not a big fan of Halloween. I don’t hate it, but like St. Valentine’s I consider it an over hyped holiday. I think one of the reasons why I am not particularly fond of this day is the insistence on fear. I don’t like scary movies. I don’t go to the theater or play a game to be scared.  Fear is an unpleasant emotion I could do without unless absolutely necessary.

That doesn’t mean I avoid stories of things that go bump in the night.

Oh no….

But I like my stories where the hero(s) get to bump back.

Less horror and more urban fantasy. For every vampire a vampire slayer, for every demon a demon hunter.

I liked Jaws, and Aliens. Not only were they proper horror movies (never show the monster in the trailer) but the heroes get to fight back. They are not reduced to screaming, running piles of human flesh waiting for their killer to strike them down at their whim. They fight back. They win the day. At a cost, but they win.

Rippley blasted the nasty xenomorph through an airlock.

The shark got blown to smithereens with a well place rifle shot.

Fake blood and gore cheapens real life horrors. Reality is far scarier than anything dreamed up by Hollywood, and far more shocking.

Give the heroes a chance to win and win their bitter-sweet day in the sun.

Commune with the spirits of the dead, draw comfort from those that have come before and confront those that stand between you and your future.

Now that is a story I can sink my teeth into.

And now for some music from Orbital:

 

Leave a Reply

